Article of the Week: Week 1

I’ve decided to undertake a new venture for a new year.  Whilst I feel very lucky that so many people enjoy this blog (why?!), I also thought it would be good if I could make it of some use too by sharing some of the most interesting psychiatry and psychology articles I come across through my travels on teh interwebs.  To that end, every Wednesday where possible, I shall put up my Article of the Week.

Article of the Week

The first is from Current Psychiatry, who have an excellent article on the differences between borderline personality disorder and bipolar disorder.

There’s an analysis of the overlapping symptoms, a look at what is different between the two illnesses, and possible reasons as to why one illness is often misdiagnosed as the other.  The article also points out that there is, genuinely, a high correlation of co-morbid BPD and bipolar disorder (especially type II), nodding at the possible biology underpinning both conditions.

A slight warning: some of this stuff is technical (well, it is for psychiatrists!), but if that doesn’t faze you, this is a very insightful article.

Borderline, Bipolar or Both?  Frame Your Diagnosis on the Patient History.

Honourable Mentions

A mention too to Kathy Broady at Discussing Dissociation, who writes a moving post on the hopelessness and despair felt by those who have been affected by psychological trauma.  She also advises on how to combat these feelings.

Hopelessness and Despair

The Canadian Globe and Mail asks whether or not psychiatrists and therapists have their own significant mental health difficulties.  The author says at one point that she has wondered if her therapist has, and I can certainly confirm that I too have made the same mental queries.

The Secret Life of Psychiatrists

Finally, Psychiatric Times posted a decent entry on how therapists and psychiatrists can end the therapeutic relationship with minimum disruption to the patient’s well-being (maybe C should read this).

Psychiatric Abandonment: Pitfalls and Prevention

Any Suggestions?

I find most of these articles via interesting links from Twitter, as well as my own explorations.  If you want to suggest an article for inclusion here, I’d be delighted.  I can be contacted in a variety of ways, or you can simply leave a comment here.

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to “Article of the Week: Week 1”

  1. Great idea, SI. The “Secret Life of Psychiatrists” article was quite interesting, and dovetailed nicely with a discussion I had with my therapist yesterday; she is in a leadership role with the ISST-D, and said she is “appalled and horrified” by how many therapists working with dissociative disorders are themselves dissociatives who have not done adequate work to contain and heal from their own issues.

    • Wow. That is somewhat shocking. I’m absolutely all for people who’ve had mental health difficulties entering the helping professions – I mean, who better to understand what one is going through than someone who has been there? However, I’d only advocate this when the therapist him or herself is in recovery from the illness, or at least has it well managed. I don’t think it would benefit either party if the therapist started dissociating or whatever after being triggered by something the client said. As you’ll know, therapy can be incredibly intense, and the therapist could well be triggered even when well, nevermind whilst in the midst of an ‘active’ mental illness.

      • I think it’s pretty easy for people to believe they are more recovered than they are. And I also think it is quite easy for a high-functioning dissociative to seem far more “sane” than they actually are, which is probably how they slip by in peer/supervisor review.

Leave a Reply

